Be Still

“LORD, this cross is too heavy”, I murmered, while sitting numbly at my desk, staring at the wall in my dark bedroom. It was a Sunday night and inside I was feeling more broken and wounded than ever before. The weight of the painful burden I’ve been learning to live with seemed to be crushing out the little bit of joy I had managed to grasp that day.

Just a little bit of light, Lord, I thought to myself.

Oh, how our complaints must grieve His heart. We’re too often like Peter who so eagerly stepped out on the water in faith, only to look down and freak out. It happens to me all the time!

“Hope and quietly wait”, were the words my Heavenly Father whispered into my soul that night. I quickly went to read that passage in Lamentations and was encouraged. And all week long I’ve been hearing the words of this song in my heart.

Be still, my soul, the Lord is on thy side

Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain
Leave to thy God to order and provide
In every change He faithful willremain
Be still, my soul, they best, they heavenly friend
Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end
Be still, my soul, thy God doth undertake
To guide the future as He has the past
Thy hope, thy confidence, let nothing shake
All now mysterious shall be bright at last
Be still, my soul, the waves and winds still know
His voice Who ruled them while He dwelt below
In you I rest, in You I found my hope
In you I trust, You never let me go
I place my life within your hands alone
Be still, my soul
Be still, my soul, the hour is hastening on
When we shall be forever with the Lord
When disappointed grief and fear are gone
Sorrow forgot, loves purest joys restored
Be still, my soul, when change and tears are past
All safe and blessed we shall meet at last
In you I rest, in You I found my hope
In you I trust, You never let me go
I place my life within your hands alone
Be still, my soul
In you I rest, in You I found my hope
In you I trust, You never let me go
I place my life within your hands alone
Be still, my soul.

Yes, just be still.

When your cross seems too heavy, bear it patiently.

When the hurt and grief seem too much, bring it to Jesus.

When all hell is breaking loose inside, remember our Saviour’s promise: “I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

“The Lord is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in Him. The Lord is good unto them that wait for Him, to the soul that seeketh Him. It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the Lord.”

Lamentations 3:24-26

One thought on “Be Still

  1. Lucinda J

    Thank you for this. Truly the only way we can meet life’s disappointments with joy and hope is through the promises God gives us.

    Like

Leave a comment