What to do with frustration?

image

“I’m not going to do it,” I muttered under my breath as I grabbed the seeder from the garden bed and my pack of seeds.  I clunked all into the wheelbarrow and headed for home.  That clumpy bed wasn’t fit for the seeder to roll over and it was time to eat supper anyways. 

This was last Saturday.  A day that was spent almost entirely outdoors by all of us, and I was exhausted.  The last thing I needed was trouble while planting that last row of beets. 

As I returned to the house with my dad, I told him I didn’t plant the beets because the bed was too clumpy at the beginning.  The first question he asked was, “did you try?”

Of course I’d tried.  Or had I?  At most I had spent a few minutes raking, and then maybe 30 seconds of shoving the seeder along before I tossed it in the wheelbarrow in frustration.  Perhaps that wasn’t considered trying very hard,  but I was tired, and hungry and at the point of tears.  I know that sounds rather silly; to be almost crying over a simple task such as planting one row of beets.  It amuses me to think of it now.  However, it certainly wasn’t funny then!

Later on while cleaning up outside, my dad suggested I go back and plant the beets. Reluctantly, I gathered my things and returned to the garden where that clumpy bed sat unchanged.  While I stood glaring at it for a few moments, I suddenly thought to pray.  Right there I asked God to help me get it done.

Simple as that.
 
After a bit more work with the rake the clumps were decreased and the seeder glided through easily.  Within 10 or 15 minutes the beets were planted and I was headed for home.

I know it went well because I had prayed.

If I could describe my life right now in one word, it would be “frustrating”.  That episode in the garden was just one small example, and very minor in comparison to the other happenings and situations in my life.  Lately it seems like I’m often at the point of frustration, or at least, not far from it.  I have to always be on guard, and working hard to stay out of that condition of giving in to the frustration.

Earlier this week I was thinking of good ways to keep out of frustration.  For one thing, if we are Christians, we don’t have to be frustrated by the external, out-of-our-control things happening around us. If we believe God is God, than He is in control!  And if we are frustrated by happenings on the internal, then we need look no further as the problem lies in the mirror. 

The following is my list of personal strategies for overcoming frustration.  It is quite short, but it covers the important aspects, and supplies some practical, useful ideas for leaving frustration behind!  Maybe it will be helpful to someone else besides me. 🙂

1.  Give it to God
The number one, absolute first and best solution for frustration is praying to our Heavenly Father about it, and giving everything to Him.  I find I have to do it nearly daily.  Sometimes many times a day, depending upon the situation.  And often I forget.  As the song says, “oh, what peace we often forfeit, oh what needless pain we bear.  All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.”
The key to no frustration is constant communication with Jesus all through the day.  A life so hid and consumed in Christ cannot be shaken or dismayed.  I must not be there yet but how I want to!

2.  Get busy
This one doesn’t work if you’re working on a particularly frustrating task.  In that case, back up to number 1. Otherwise, this is a great fix for me when I need to quit dwelling on the frustrating happenings in my life.  I like to get to work on a project and exert myself a bit. Working on something productive helps me a lot!  There are endless possibilities and ways to distract ones mind.
Years ago when I was in my early teens, I went through a difficult stage of rebellion. I always knew when my attitude was bad because my mom would tell me to go mow the lawn.  That activity, along with taking a shower, were the two things that could do wonders for my attitude.  To this day they are still a great help in calming and resetting me whenever I may be distraught.

3.  Exercise
This one is a personal favorite.  For me, There’s is nothing like a good, all-out bike ride that gets the blood pumping and the juices flowing.  A few evenings ago, after it had just rained, I hopped on my bike and left the house.  As I cruised along the wet pavement enjoying the cool, fresh spring air, I talked to God.  I asked Him what on earth I was going to do, and He reminded me that I’m not going to do anything.  My response was something like this: “Oh yeah, I forgot again Lord. It’s you who is going to do something!  I should be asking you what are you going to do?  Or better yet, what would you have me to do, Lord?”

Isn’t that how it is so often?  We think we are going to do something about our situation and in all reality, we can’t!  We are so helpless on our own; so completely lacking if we are without His Spirit at work in our lives.  It’s times like that bike ride I gain a better perspective, and come away with peace.  As in the “get busy” suggestion, exert yourself a bit!  Hop on a bike, or go on a walk or run.  Fresh air and physical exertion does wonders for a soul and body fraught with stress and tension.

4.  Talk about it
I have the hardest time with this one.  Some days, on a rare occasion, I may feel like venting on someone (usually my sister).  Most often, though, I keep to myself.  It can be difficult to put our frustrations into words, and so we hide it until we are ready to pop from inside.  Is that a bad thing?  Maybe not.  Especially if you are lacking in trusted, close confidences, it may be best to be quiet and ride it out.  There are times when talking with a person can be very helpful, and even necessary!  Being quiet and serious would be my default, but there have been situations where I took the step to talk.
Even when we don’t have those we might share our hurts and frustrations with, there is always our Heavenly Father.  He listens, never condemns, and loves unconditionally.  He’s my best confidant!

Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ:
By whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God.
Romans 5:1-2

Leave a comment